
© Brett Rojo-Imagn Photographs
The Texas softball staff gained Recreation 1 of the Ladies’s School World Sequence on Wednesday evening towards rival Texas Tech. The Longhorns did so in dramatic vogue after being wronged.
The NCAA’s terrible obstruction rule got here into play. Texas wound up on the shedding facet of a nasty name. Ultimately, it didn’t matter.
The drama began within the fifth inning of play with each groups scoreless. A Purple Raiders baserunner was thrown out by catcher Reese Atwood whereas attempting to steal second. The throw beat her by a mile!
From caught stealing (by a mile) – to OBSTRUCTION?!
Loopy flip of occasions for @TexasSoftball as Texas Tech makes use of that break to attain the one run of the sport so far.
Brutal rule – and also you merely can’t make that decision on this second on the #WCWS Finals.
1-0 TT within the sixth.… pic.twitter.com/eqsy4XYuoR
— Dennis de la Pena (@dennisonfox7) June 5, 2025
Texas Tech challenged the play after the very fact. Umpires dominated that the Longhorn defender had violated softball’s obstruction rule.
The definition is specified by NCAA handbook Rule 9.5. It reads as follows:
Obstruction happens when a defensive participant, neither in possession of the ball nor within the act of fielding a batted ball, impedes a batter’s try and make contact with a pitch or impedes the progress of any runner who’s legally working bases on a stay ball. It may be intentional or unintentional.
Obstruction may be referred to as if the defensive participant doesn’t have possession of the ball, and he or she:
Blocks any a part of the forefront of first, second or third base or house plate (as outlined); or
In any other case blocks the runner from advancing or returning to a base.
The rule is in place to forestall defenders from blocking entry to the bag with out having the ball. It provides runners a lane, which decreases the opportunity of a collision. The intention of the rule is completely fantastic. The interpretation wants altering.
On this case, Atwood’s throw led her teammate ever-so-slightly into the basepath. In line with the rule, she wanted to catch the ball earlier than planting her foot within the path and making her tag. That’s a lot simpler stated than completed.
The Texas defender’s place had no impression on the play. She didn’t impede the runner. Nonetheless, umpires reversed the ruling and gave Texas Tech the bottom.
Two batters later, the Purple Raiders took the lead on an RBI single. Fortunately, it wouldn’t price the Longhorns.
Texas softball’s Reese Atwood referred to as sport.
Atwood received her revenge quickly after the obstruction name. Within the sixth inning, the Purple Raiders tried to deliberately stroll her. With a 3-0 rely, she took benefit of a pitch that was too near the zone.
Texas Tech’s $1 million pitcher NiJaree Canady left one out over the plate whereas making an attempt to difficulty the free go. Atwood despatched it to leftfield for a two-run base hit. Ball don’t lie!
After evaluation, this pitch was obstructed by @atwood_reese bat. #HookEm | ????: ESPN pic.twitter.com/UUGgsJxVsY
— Texas Softball (@TexasSoftball) June 5, 2025
Texas subsequently trolled with the caption on its social media spotlight. “After evaluation, this pitch was obstructed by Reese Atwood’s bat,” the submit learn.
The only was Atwood’s first hit of the Ladies’s School World Sequence. She entered the at-bat 0-for-10 in Oklahoma Metropolis. The Longhorns grabbed a 2-1 lead and by no means appeared again. Canady took full blame for the loss.
“I made that mistake,” she stated in her postgame presser. “That loss is on me, and I wish to apologize to my teammates.”
Atwood, in the meantime, celebrated. Texas took a 1-0 lead within the three-game sequence. They will carry house a nationwide championship with yet one more win.